Puto Cheese

image

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Yeah its been ages since i last wrote my last blog. Today, I would like to share some recipe that I’ve been longing to try. Luck has been on my side lately, the result was a success. In fact it was a craving turned into a new experience which surprised me so much.

Foremost, I would like to acknowledge credits to Ms. Lalaine http://www.kawalingpinoy.com/2014/11/cheese-puto/ where I learned my recipe.

Here’s a repost of her recipe:

PREP TIME
20 mins
COOK TIME
10 mins
TOTAL TIME
30 mins
 
Yield: About 40 Pieces
INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
3 eggs
6 ounces evaporated milk
½ cup water
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

Equipment
mini puto molds

INSTRUCTIONS
Prepare lower part of steamer with water and bring to a boil.
In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar and baking powder. Mix well.
Add eggs on at a time and using an electric mixer, beat after each addition. Add milk and beat until smooth. Add water and continue to beat until batter is thin and smooth. Add butter and vanilla extract. Stir until well blended. Add ¾ of the cheese and stir until combined.
Fill molds with batter up to ¾ full. Arrange molds in a single layer on steamer rack and place over steamer. Lower heat to medium and steam puto for about 8 to 10 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Turn off heat and top each puto with the remaining
.

I don’t have puto molds but I have silicon plastic cups that my boyfriend gave me on my 34th birthday, that’s what I make use of instead of the mini puto molder called for in the recipe. And due to the size of my molder, I only yield around 22 pieces.

image

Leave a Reply

